Chapter Ten: Part Twenty-Six

“I’m sorry, I don’t understand.” I whisper in reply.

“Nedac’s very instincts have been suppressed. The Nedac you see before you now is not his true self. I estimate that it’ll take about three days to fully wear off, but once the residual magic is completely gone from his system, Nedac won’t care about anyone anymore.” Nerits elaborates.

“It is only because his instincts are suppressed that he doesn’t just mindlessly kill at his leisure.” He says. I gasp and stare up at him in horror.

“Is Caden’s seal still in place?” I ask frantically.

“As far as I know.” Nerits replies.

“So if Caden takes control before the three days are up, then we should be safe as long as Nedac doesn’t break free?” I probe hopefully. Nerits is quiet for a moment before answering.

“If you can get Nedac to give Caden control before the three days are up, then yes. He should be suppressed.” Nerits answers. I sigh in relief, closing my eyes for a moment.

I feel overwhelmed again. This is just another thing to worry about. Things just keep piling up. My head is whirling with all I’ve learned and we must do, I can’t decide what issue we need to tackle first.

“This is it.” Nerits says abruptly, stopping in front of a door. I stand for a moment, staring at the door. I guess this is the problem we’ll tackle first. Nerits pulls a key ring out of his pocket and starts trying individual keys in the lock until he finds the right one.

“You stole that from Lidiya.” Nedac states, smirking at the spellcaster. Nerits doesn’t respond. Instead, he turns the handle and pushes the door open. It’s completely dark inside the room. I look up at Nerits and he’s looking at me sadly.

“She’s blind,” he murmurs. “No need for light.” My eyes fill with tears but I blink them away.

“What’s her name?” I ask, voice barely above a whisper. I unbuckle the straps of my backpack and pull it off my shoulders and drop it on the floor beside the door.

“Emmallis.” Nerits says. I give him an incredulous look and he sighs.

“She was named after the coastal town in which she was found as an infant.” He explains. Taking a deep breath and squaring my shoulders, I step inside.

About lisamariemeier

I am an aspiring writer who someday hopes to get my work published. My Four Fallen Trilogy has consumed my life for the past seven years and I can't wait to get it finished and share it with the world, hopefully publishing Sara the Fallen in book form once this blog is finished.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

