Chapter Ten: Part Twenty-Nine

Authors Note:

Alright everyone. Today, January 10th, marks the one year anniversary of the start of this blog. I’m not quite sure how much longer it’s going to take me to finish my book. Another month or two, I estimate. Right now, I have ten chapters and 446 pages. I have another three chapters to go, so I have around 100 more pages. If possible, I’d like to get some feedback on what I’ve written so far. Any comments would be appreciated. But I’d love some detail. What do you like? Favorite characters? Favorite scenes? Things I could improve? Anything. I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks to everyone who’s been reading and I hope you like what I’ve written.

Love Always,

Lisa

 

“Yes, Emmallis. They lied to you. The world isn’t as dangerous as they made it seem. They took you away from the orphanage where you had a chance to find a family and took you here and isolated you and made you afraid of everything. They hurt you and they lied to you.” I say, voice rising a bit in my anger.

“But if you come with me, I’ll take care of you. I’ll protect you and I’ll stay with you.” I say, staring hard at her. Her eyes are wide and hope is openly showing on her face.

“Could we…” she starts, voice unsure. After a moment she seems to draw her courage. “Could we be a family?” Tears fill my eyes and spill over. Brushing them away with the heels of my hands, I let out a delighted laugh.

“Yes! Yes of course we can!” I exclaim. Emmallis’ eyes run over with tears and her face is so happy I can’t help but cry some more. She seems to hesitate for a moment before holding out her arms, beseeching.

I don’t hesitate. I stride forward and scoop her into my arms. She yelps, startled, but quickly wraps her skinny arms around my neck and clings to me, crying into my shoulder. I shift her so she’s resting on my hip, her legs wrapped around my waist, and my arm resting under her rear to keep her seated.

“Is there anything you wish to take with you?” I ask, looking around the dark room. Emmallis nods into my shoulder.

“Under my pillow.” She whispers. I reach down and lift the pillow. Underneath is a cloth doll. It’s so small as to fit in the palm of my hand. It’s old and dirty but I can tell it’s well loved.

I pick it up and brush it over Emmallis’ hand. When she feels the touch of the doll she opens her hand and I place the tiny doll into her waiting hand.

“Nanny said my mama made it for me when I was a baby.” She whispers and I clutch her to my chest in a tight embrace.

“You’re safe. I’m here now.” I murmur. Thinking quickly, I open a drawer and pull out a change of clothes for Emmallis; leggings, tunic, skirt, underclothes. Everything is a plain grey color so I don’t have to worry about matching colors or any such nonsense. 

Clutching the clothing in one hand and Emmallis in the other, I make my way for the door. I step outside the room and into the hallway.

About lisamariemeier

I am an aspiring writer who someday hopes to get my work published. My Four Fallen Trilogy has consumed my life for the past seven years and I can't wait to get it finished and share it with the world, hopefully publishing Sara the Fallen in book form once this blog is finished.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

